Tacoma Public Library – Summer Reading 2012

Tacoma Public Library – Summer Reading 2012

Image

I love books. Ever since I was a little girl, I loved where a book could take me.  In fact, one of my earliest memories of my mother is her reading to me before bedtime.  As a native Pacific Northwester, when the weather got to cold or wet, I could curl up with a great book and transport myself to a desert island in the Swiss Family Robinson.  I am trying to pass that love of books onto my boys.  So, I am excited about the summer reading program I just saw on the Tacoma Public Library’s homepage.

I remember one summer, reading so many books, I actually got an award from the Mayor of Tacoma.  It was a great honor and I remember being dressed up and coached by my mom and grandma just how to act. That was through the Tacoma Library too, Fern Hill branch to be exact.

This summer the Tacoma Public Library has 3 reading programs for people of ALL ages.  If you have a baby, you can read and participate. If you are single, you can read and participate. Heck, read to your dog, read to the neighbor’s kid, read out loud to a group of friends, but by all means – READ!

Some of the prizes are pretty cool too:

  • For the Dream Big Read group (birth – 5th grade) if you read and report on 10 books, you can enter to win a new laptop!!
  • For the Own the Night group (6th – 12th grade) if you read and report on 10 books, you can enter to win a new iPad!!
  • Between the covers (adults or 12th grade and older) Read and report on 5 books in a 8 week period, you could win an iPad.

Even if you don’t win the big prize, laptop or iPad, you can always enter to win a weekly prize like tickets to go bowling or the zoo.  All of which are great, wonderful family type activities.  The clubs begin Saturday June 16th and end on Saturday August 11th.  So sign up at your local library or using the link above for full rules and details.  Go out, get reading!  Ive shared some of my favorite books with my boys, like Chronicles of Narnia, which ones will you share?

Leave a Reply

