Cranberry Sauce – from Fresh Berries

Cranberry sauce is startlingly easy to make. I know, most anything is, if you know how. But, the ingredient list is short, and its pretty much like making a jam. Add ingredients, simmer and done. My favorite side dish of the holidays is cranberry sauce, or stuffing, or green beans… Okay, let me revise, my favorite and most versatile sauce from the holidays is cranberry sauce.

A good cranberry sauce can also function as a spread for a Turkey sandwich, or as jelly on a PBJ or a delightful burst of flavor and color on your holiday plate. Three uses, easy to make  and pretty? What is not to love? I get my fresh-ish cranberries from Costco, because they have the biggest bags and seem to have the best prices around here

Here is my recipe: (adapted from Cooks Illustrated: I like a little less sweet, so I don’t use all the sugar or salt due to dietary constraints for my grandpa:)

1 1/2 C Water
1 1/2 C Sugar
1/4tsp Salt
1-24oz bag of Cranberries

Bring Water, Salt and Sugar to a boil and dissolve the Sugar. Add the Cranberries, simmer until about 2/3rds of the berries are broken or the sauce has thickened. Transfer to a non-reactive (glass or plastic) container to cool to room temperature.  Serve at room temperature. Can be stored in refrigerator for up to 7 days. (It never lasts this long at my house!)

**Picture from CooksIllustrated.com

One thought on “Cranberry Sauce – from Fresh Berries

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving | Momisms – Moments in Motherhood

Leave a Reply

