Wake up Buttercup

If you are like me waking up in the morning is not an easy thing to do. 5am comes WAY too early in this house. For a nutritious and natural way to wake up, I like to drink a smoothie in the morning. Full of good veggies and fruit, especially apple, It helps me start the morning off on the right foot.

If you are especially time crunched in the morning, and what mom isn’t, prep the ingredients the night before while you make the kids’ lunches for school. That way, all you have to do is drop and blend.

My Favorite Green Smoothie Recipe

6 frozen Strawberries

Spinachman – click here for more recipes

12 Almonds
1/4C Water
1 med Carrot
1C Baby Spinach
1 med Apple
1 med Orange

Add ingredients to the blender in this order, blend. Add more water if you like a smoother silkier smoothie, less if you like it chunky. The apple in the smoothie helps wake me up, naturally. I find a bit of citrus, orange, brightens up the flavors and keeps out the grassy taste from the spinach. Also, adding almonds with the water is like making your OWN almond milk inside the smoothie.  How COOL is that!?! I love it. Creamy without dairy.

Other favorite fruit/veggies Ive added:

  • Kale
  • Bananas
  • Grapes (fresh or frozen)
  • Kiwi
  • Pineapple

*Disclaimer – I have a Vitamix and I LOOOVE it! 

5 thoughts on “Wake up Buttercup

  1. Pingback: Spinach Recall in Washington | Momisms – Moments in Motherhood

  2. Pingback: What I’ve Been Eating | Momisms - My Moments in Motherhood

  3. Pingback: Why should you get a Vitamix blender today? | Momisms - My Moments in Motherhood

Leave a Reply

