Bad Mommy Days

Image borrowed from Blondie McBattlefield

Yesterday was a bad day. I don’t know why, it started out on the wrong note. I had a bad mommy day.

For those of you that know me personally, you know change has come to our house. My husband got a job! We are excited for this, it has been a long 2.5 years! But, his new job takes him travelling a good deal and so it is just me, myself and I (and you by virtue of reading my posts) with the 3 kiddos. (ages 6, 6, and 2) Between working full time, cooking and choosing which toilet to scrub, it gets to be a little much some days. Yesterday was a day like that.

I was told the reason the 6 year olds were not dressed was because they didn’t have any school-worthy pants. But I had just washed EVERYTHING 1 day prior. Then, when I asked Archie to check if he had flushed the toilet. He was tired and refused. Such a simple request. But he is 6 and I didn’t ask him to explain himself. (He didn’t want to get his hands dirty and have to wash them again.) I lost it and yelled. Not an auspicious start to the day.

My reaction plagued me throughout the work day. I didn’t want to yell. I didn’t want to react, but we were running late and I had just been told that I needed to do laundry – again. As the morning kept running through my head I thought: “How can I be better?” This situation is going to last a long time and I need to manage this.

So I did 4 things, and so far (for 1 day anyway) its working:

  1. I apologized. I don’t think this shows weakness, but strength of character when own your mistakes.
  2. I made a plan to change. I told my kids “Mommy had a bad start to the day, but I am making it better.”
  3. I asked for help. I prayed a bit. Looking for peace, knowing that the house won’t fall down around my ears if I don’t vacuum this week or pick up toys or if my kids eat breakfast for dinner. (its fast, healthy and delicious)
  4. I asked my kids for help. “Mommy is going to try really hard to let you know when I need a little bit of extra help from you to make it a good day. Can you listen when I ask?”

I was happy and surprised to get hugs from all three boys, 2 – ‘I love you’s and 1- Cha Choo

(aka: ‘Me too’ from the 2 year old) I don’t know how I managed it, but for having a bad mommy day, my boys are pretty awesome. 

Do you have days like this? If so, I would love to hear how you manage!

6 thoughts on “Bad Mommy Days

  1. Hi there! I wanted to pop in to thank you for deciding to follow my blog. I’m so happy that you enjoyed reading it enough to follow it. I hope you’ll continue to enjoy the posts.

    I already love your blog. I’m looking forward to following it and reading more mommy adventures. I think you’re already my hero for managing three boys. I can barely keep myself straight with only one child … so be sure to hang in there and give yourself as much compassion and love as you give your boys. You’re doing a great job!! 🙂

    • Thank you! I think as moms, and women, we can be hardest on ourselves. And boys really ARE from another planet! I just try to love them as they are and hope they don’t need too much therapy as adults, haha.

  2. Lynette, I’ve had many, many days like this and followed similar responses as you have. Apologizing with accountability to change is first. It has proven well over the years as my children have learned to apologize when needed, too. Thanks for your sharing!

    • Thank you for the kind words! I am certainly trying for the accountability piece. However, just after this day, I lost my voice, for a week. So, I’ve had to be very intentional with my words and the amount if them I use.

Leave a Reply

