Ham and Navy Bean Soup

Navy Bean/ Ham Soup

Here’s a repeat: works with Easter Ham too! With leftover ham from the holiday dinner, I was at a loss what to do. So, I went to my local WinCo (LOVE that place) to the bulk foods section and bought some navy beans.

As a disclaimer, I don’t like Navy beans, or really any type of bean/lentil or pea. Its a weird holdover from childhood.

Of course, I didn’t really plan ahead. So I pulled out my trusty Test Kitchen cookbook and wondered (hoped) there was a solution, and there was. I brought the beans to a boil, then capped it with a lid and took it off the heat. 1 hour later, the beans were ready to go. Then, I started throwing things in a pot, and it actually turned out pretty well. The kids and I both ate it without any complaints.

Ingredients

  • 1lb of Navy Beans
  • 1 Ham bone
  • 3cups Cubed ham
  • 6stalks celery
  • 1 large Yellow Onion
  • 2 1/2 Qts Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 Qt Beef Stock
  • 1Qt Water
  • 1Tbs white pepper
  • 2tsp salt
  • 5sprigs Rosemary (fresh)
  • 1sprig Basil (fresh)

Directions

Heat the stock pot and add the 3 cups of cubed ham. Cook the ham down to get a good rendering a fat. Add the onion and celery. Sweat the onion and celery till onion is clear. Add the liquid (chicken, beef and water) and the ham bone. Add seasonings (salt, rosemary, basil) and bring to boil. Let simmer gently for 1 hour. Enjoy!

Even though I don’t typically like beans, peas or lentils (see disclaimer above) I really liked this soup and can’t wait to make it again.

Leave a Reply

