Personal Trainers: Are they worth the money?

Photo courtesy of CNN.com *click for CNN article*

In my quest for personal fitness, I tried to set up a schedule to work out at the gym. I thought to myself: “I can do it. I don’t need to spend money on a trainer.” Boy, was I wrong! I thought after years in and out of gyms, taking classes would prepare me for focusing on how to change my life. That wasn’t realistic. I finally realized after about a month of spotty attendance and no results other than a pile of dirty laundry, I wasn’t really getting anywhere. If I employed a professional to do things like roof my house or fix my car, why shouldn’t I rely on a professional to give me a leg up in the change department? So, bring in the trainer and the results.

Since Ive been working out with my trainer on a regular basis, 2 times per week for 2 months (I attend cardio classes 2 other days during the week for a total of 4 days a week working out) I have lost 25 pounds!! Ive been watching what I eat, logging my food (I will get into that next week), and working out consistently. I also gave up wine. Shocking! But an herbal tea in the evenings is nice too. My shirts are starting to fit better and my pant waistbands are getting a lot more loose. Another 10 pounds and it will be time to see the tailor. This is a good thing.

Trainers are expensive, so here are some tips I learned to keep you from wasting your money:

  1. Try to bargain a rate when you sign up to the gym. Sometimes they will throw in an extra session or give you an over all discounted rate.
  2. All professionals should come with some sort of credentials and reviews. Do your research. Make sure you have an accredited trainer and ask for referrals.
  3. Interview your perspective trainer. Make sure they are fit (In my opinion, if they are going to tell you how to get fit, they should be on that journey or fit themselves.)
  4. Make sure your trainer’s style fits your needs. You have some trainers that prefer weight training, others prefer a cross-fit kind of a thing. Ask about their style and see if it is something you would be interested in. If you don’t want to be yelled at, then don’t buy sessions with someone who yells no matter what their YELP rating is. There is no use buying training sessions only to find out later the style isn’t for you. That is  a waste of money.
  5. Make your appointments consistent. Pick a day or time of day and commit to it. Your trainer can’t help you change your body if you only see him/her once a month.
  6. Make sure you know cancellation and expiration policy. I purchased a re-occurring block of sessions. These sessions are more than I will use in a month, but to get the best rate, I will buy 4 months then cancel the subscription. This will let me use up the rest of the training sessions and I will effectively have sessions booked for the rest of the year.

If you want to see a really great video of some of the ways a trainer can guide you, even if you are already fit-ish, but maybe want something a bit more agressive, see the following link.

http://live.wsj.com/video/bikini-bodybuilding-one-woman-experience/25A25F60-A7EC-41F7-87AF-1D11BDC00646.html?mod=WSJ_article_outbrain&obref=obnetwork#!101BA629-7E8A-47E4-8508-35EDAC570E78

6 thoughts on “Personal Trainers: Are they worth the money?

  1. Thanks for posting this article. As a personal trainer to be (I’ll be taking the certification test in less that two months) I’m always looking for perspectives/experiences from folks who have utilized a PT. Cheers!

    • Thanks for the kind words! It’s been a struggle, but I realized something had to change when I could catch my 6yr olds anymore when I chased them. My goal this year is to beat them in a foot race, muahahaha

  2. Pingback: Fitness Friday: The Contest | Momisms - My Moments in Motherhood

  3. Pingback: National Running Day – 5k? | Momisms - My Moments in Motherhood

Leave a Reply

