National Running Day – 5k?

Photo Credit: LittleFancyNancy.blogspot.com Click for link to article

Today is National Running Day. I post about fitness on Fridays usually, but since it is National Running Day – I’m branching out. I’m not an accomplished runner, in fact I only run for one minute at a time. A prior post about how I have recently decided I enjoy running talks about how it takes me 30 minutes to grab 2 miles. I run for 1 minute, and walk for 1 minute. Between warm up/cool down and my run/walk routine it takes me 30 minutes.

Normally I run on a treadmill in the gym. I have family and friends who love running trails or down pathways. My biggest challenge is finding the time where I have time outside. During the workday, the streets and sidewalks are pretty crowded and there is no real great area to run. The gym in the building where I work provides a treadmill for free and it is only an elevator ride away. So when not working out with my personal trainer, I hit the gym in my office building. On non-working days I am usually surrounded by my kids. The older kids would probably run with me, but I can’t get the 2 year old motivated. (He is sooo much like his mother!) I suppose I could break out the jogging stroller, but I really want to break him of the stroller habit. So, on the weekends you can usually find us indulging in at least one walk  to the park to get him used to going distances without the struggle of having to coax him.

Several twitter friends of mine: Heather ,  Jennifer and Holly inspire me towards better fitness. These are ladies who manage to balance fitness and family. Heather was recently convinced to run a 5K. Im told a 5K is only 1 more mile than what I am currently doing on the treadmill. I think a 5K challenge might be worth exploring. Does anyone have any experience going from the treadmill to the road/sidewalk? Any advice? Am I completely crazy or is this something I could do?

4 thoughts on “National Running Day – 5k?

  1. Girl, you can totally make the switch. Once your feet start moving the brain catches up in seconds. And a 5k is def in your future. You against yourself mama.

  2. You got this! We can do it…From what I was reading 30 mins is a good beginner 5K time. Hmmm, we may just love it and do more than one 5K!

  3. I’m retraining for a 5K again too. I would advise running on the “road” at least some before you actually take on a race. Running on the treadmill and running outside can be two different things. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

