Un.. Motivated

Picture courtesy of urbannight.wordpress.com Click for original article

Ugh, these last few days weeks I have been un.mo.ti.vate.ded. I don’t know if its the end of the school year or if it is something in the air or a hormonal or emotional thing, but, I have been un motivated over the last 2 weeks. The baby came home sick from daycare on Friday and dealing with a sick baby, chores (now that my mom is gone) and Church and I think I got burnt out. Long days at work, chores and kids, it wears a mom down.

Not a good way to start a 90day fitness-challenge. *sigh* Why can’t challenges include wine?

I look at the kids and make sure they are playing well together, then I powered up my iPhone and downloaded a book and read. There are too many free books ready to download and I sat. The kids watched a movie (Raise of the Guardians)Then I sat some more. We even had a finger food dinner, Chicken and Joes from the deli at QFC (Joes are fried potatoes for the uninitiated) – they did have salad for a veggie, so Im not a totally bad mom. But, the rest was finger-food. In fact they noticed and called it a finger food night. That was cool.

But it was indicative of a mom who didn’t want dishes, didn’t want clean up and didn’t want anything to do with work. So, I stacked dishes on the counter, sat and read a trashy romance novel while the kids watched TV. Yeah, this lasted about a day and half.

Then , I got a call from my parents, who sent me plane tickets to visit, so I could drop my kids off for the summer. My kids love visiting on the farm, but WHAT am I going to do without them for almost 2 months? Don’t get me wrong, we went. Then I ran away giggling manically and promptly scheduled 2 girls weekends with some friends. I’m going to miss my kids, but for a little while, this girl needs a break!

7 thoughts on “Un.. Motivated

  1. I feel you. I have been so unmotivated lately too. My circumstances are about to take a huge change, but for the next month I feel like I’m in limbo. Take your break and make the most of it. It will be good for you and good for your kids when they return.

    • Good luck! Limbo is the worst, but sometimes floundering is the best way to recognize the road we need to take. At least, that is the away it usually works for me. Best of luck to you!

  2. I definitely have periods like that when it is hard to motivate to do anything that is not absolutely necessary, like sometimes even showering. πŸ˜‰ It is awesome that you get some time to yourself – every Mom needs that! And, if you decide to do some kind of wine challenge, I am totally willing to do it with you. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Ooh, a wine challenge! I really LIKE that idea. I will enjoy the down time by studying for my test in Sept. fingers crossed!

  3. Oh man … I thought I was the only person out there who was completely unmotivated by anything and everything in life lately. It’s such an annoying feeling, but, at the same time, it seems you really could use a nice and restful break. Perhaps I could, too — LOL. Enjoy your “me” time while your kiddos are visiting with your parents. You’ve earned it! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks and you are NOT the only person who deals with unmotivation from time to time. πŸ™‚ I knew what I had to do, but kept putting it off for one reason or another… Now, I feel much better and ready to take on the next thing thrown my way… Which happens to be a test in Sept.

Leave a Reply

