Stress Can’t Operate Without It

I haven’t posted in a while and here is why. There wasn’t enough going on and there wasn’t enough stress. This summer was a pretty easy summer. The kids spent most of it with Grandma and Grandpa on the farm, and I was supposed to be studying hard for an exam I just completed. I spent more time relaxing, re-growing the brain cells that shrunk from school year stress and re-connecting friends I hadn’t seen in quite a while. When I got the kids back:

  • The older two had grown at least a foot
  • The baby was potty trained (Thanks Grandma)
  • The kids expected to eat ice cream after EVERY meal (Again, thanks Grandma!)

1stDayofSchoolSchool started last week and the older boys are now in 1st grade. Thankfully, they were placed into separate classrooms. They tend to rely on each other quite a bit in between driving each other crazy. If Sean knows how to read, then Archie feels he doesn’t need to learn it. And, as they get free time in the classroom, they tended to choose the same things and steal supplies from each other which leads to more fighting.

The baby now toddler started Montessori 3 days a week. This little bugger will charm everyone and is the smartest person (including me and my husband) in the house. We are all excited about his starting school and enjoying the learning process.OliverMontessori

We’ve also decided to change up our childcare solution as well. With the husband traveling so much, and with me having a 1hr commute each way into and out of work, the days in daycare were just too long. Drop off at 6:45 and pick up by 5:45. By the time we made it back home, had dinner and went to bed, the kids (and I) were cranky snots. A friend of mine turned me onto an AuPair service that he uses. When I costed it out, I was only going to be paying about $200 more per month than what I was currently paying for my daycare. (More about that later) But, we are super excited for the boys to have shorter days away from home, more time for homework and a more relaxed day!

Since I hadn’t studied much over the summer, the last few weeks have been chock full of school supply shopping, getting used to the noise of the kids again, trying to learn how to drive while handing out snacks and listening to non-stop questions “Mommy why…?” and trying to study at the same time. I haven’t slept or blogged much in the last few weeks, and this is why. Im sure you understand. The test is over as of last weekend, I tried to sleep as much as possible and even went to bed early after Church on Sunday. We will find out in 8weeks if I actually passed. But it appears that I am MUCH more effective when I have multiple things in my life demanding my time and attention. Does anyone else have this? Is this like when soldiers become conditioned to high stress situations and can’t re-acclimate to home life. On a much smaller scale obviously, no one is in danger of losing a life at my house, only a limb if they try and take my bagel one more time. Maybe Im the only one who feels like this. Maybe Im not, but I would like your input.

One thought on “Stress Can’t Operate Without It

  1. Your boys are all beautiful! It sounds like you all had a lovely and relaxing summer, which is a good thing. I hope you did well on your test, and I hope the Fall brings just the right amount of stress into your life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

