Eating Healthy – from a kids’ point of view

For those of you who are pizza aficionados, as I am, (My craving when pregnant with the twins) I have found the pizza from Costco to be the best tasting for the value. I also tend to add extras like extra cheese, pineapple or olives before popping in the oven.

So, the other day, I asked my husband to go by Costco and pick up pizza for the weekly pizza Friday. I don’t care what school district you are from, pizza is not a vegetable to me. Unless I can count wine as a fruit, but I think my doctor would frown on that. We pair the pizza with a salad starter, limit slices and end up with a fruit chaser, usually a banana. So, I like to think I am providing healthy eating in addition to the manna that is Costco pizza.

On the way out, he grabbed a cookbook they were handing out for free. I also collect cookbooks in an effort to provide a variety of meals and not just the stuff I grew up with. I handed the cookbook to the kids and said, “Here is a stack of sticky notes. Tag anything you think is healthy and you want me to make. I will see if we can fit it in the budget and make it over the next few weeks.”

Needless to say, they tagged every other dish in the appetizer section and the dessert section. Clearly, I need to have a discussion about what healthy means. Healthy to me means whole foods/grains, a balance of meat, grain and veggie with an occasional sweet thrown in. To my boys, the strawberries on a cheesecake look healthy. Hmmm….

Staying healthy is for many a resolution in the new year. How do you eat healthy? What do you try and focus on- getting enough calcium, vitamins etc or limiting sweets? Or is it a free-for-all, following your cravings because your body knows what’s best?

Leave a Reply

