Running, is faster better?

Lately, I have been running. Not so much over the holidays what with bronchitis and all. But, after participating in the 1st run and making it a goal to hit six (Yes, 6!) 5ks over the next year, my enthusasim has once again taken hold.

Beginning of the 1st Run by Metro Parks

Beginning of the 1st Run by Metro Parks

As I run on a treadmill, I notice – I can usually run for about 3minutes +/- if the rate of speed is set to a 5.0, whereas I can only run for about 2minutes +/- if I ratchet the speed up to 5.2. (Point of clarity: I never said I would WIN the race, just run as much of it as I could.) I am slow, and I am okay with that.

But, I have a burning question:

As I start running more and trying to aim for running during the whole 5K, what is better: running at 5.2 for 2 minutes or 5.0 for 3 minutes? Ive tried the couch to 5K and Im not sure if I should aim for the time or the speed, because frankly, if I aim for the time, I have not completed a 5K. Im that slow.

Any runners out there who can help me out with some advice?

2 thoughts on “Running, is faster better?

  1. I’m no expert but as far as I am concerned for myself, I have always built up some cardiovascular endurance first. On the other hand, at the moment I’m using a 25 Minute Treadmill HIIT program which doesn’t really build endurance OR speed!

    I think, you get to the finish line however you have to get there…….studies have been done that show you can get there quicker by taking scheduled walk breaks, too!

    • Thanks Sharon! The overall results are usually about the same finish time, but I am more tired by mile 2 and tempted to take linger walk breaks when at 5.2.

      Perhaps I will go for the slow and steady approach.

Leave a Reply

